top of page

This Writer's Life - Parte the First

About to embark on writing what will be my fourth novel (the third novel in a loosely related series entitled The Covenant), I thought it would be good idea to record the process in a loosely related series of blogs.


I may come to regret this ...


Firstly, I should state that I plan out everything in advance. Yes, I am one of those types of writers. This means that I assemble detailed character records, writing histories, working out character arcs, and noting every aspect of their physical features, from their apparel to their hair, from the scar on their forehead to that mole on the third toe of their left foot. It also means that every situation the characters work through is recorded in a scene-by-scene breakdown.

Now, I know what you’re thinking: why bother writing a book when I not only know the end of the story but every step along the way? The answer, for me, is simple. A good book is all about the writing. Having everything mapped out allows me to focus on the prose. I suppose it is like going on a long walk through unfamiliar countryside; if I have a map, I don’t have to worry about becoming lost; I can simply enjoy the view.

One of the advantages of this approach is that I know early on if a book is going to work out. Well, that is how it is supposed to be. A pity then that the reality can be somewhat different. Having compiled pages upon pages of notes, character descriptions, location information, detailed research, and, of course, that aforementioned scene-by-scene breakdown, it suddenly became apparent that what was going to be my next book was just not working out. All that work, all those notes I had compiled, had resulted in something that simply was not fit for purpose.

It's hard to describe the feeling, the realisation that I suddenly had nothing for all the creative effort I had put in. A mixture of disappointment, desperation, and despair was just the start. Filing everything away, I could only accept the realisation that, in spite of my best efforts, I had spawned something ugly, something intractable, something that would have to be confined to the attic, never to be seen again―not unlike some of my books’ antagonists then! All I could do was sit back down at my desk and face the dreaded blank page once more.

Since then, I have worked tirelessly on coming up with new possible ideas for my next book. This has proved particularly tricky as it meant devising something that not only could stand alone but also fit into the series as a whole. Cue a lot of sleepless nights spent tossing and turning – and not in a good way. And cue a lot of sleepy days searching for just the faintest glimmer of inspiration, instead of the usual funny cat memes, on Google. Still, in spite of everything, there is some good news. All the work I previously undertook was not entirely in vain. I did manage to finally salvage something. The new incarnation of my next novel retains (cue drum roll …) the same opening scene! I know. It doesn’t sound like much. But you have to understand that, for this writer, it’s the little things that keep me going. Just ask my better half.


bottom of page